none
Problem with Add-In For Word -- Add-In doesn't recognize open windows in Word RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I have a lot of experience writing VBA macros in Word, but I am a beginner to Visual Studio.  I have created a simple ribbon Add-In with Ribbon Designer that has two buttons:  (1) Cleanup Button; and (2) Format Button.  Cleanup Button, when clicked, executes a macro called "ShowTableCleanup", and Format Button, when clicked, executes a macro called "ShowFinTable".  Both macros reside in my normal template in Word.  Each of these macros checks to make sure that a document (window) is open in Word otherwise the remaining code doesn't run.  Following is the vba code at the start of each macro:

If Application.Windows.Count = 0 Then

Exit Sub

End If 

Following is the code in ribbon.vb in my Visual Studio project:

Imports Microsoft.Office.Tools.Ribbon

Public Class November25_17AddInRibbon

Public oWord As Word.Application

Private Sub November25_17AddInRibbon_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As RibbonUIEventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

oWord = New Word.Application

End Sub

Private Sub CleanupButton_Click(sender As Object, e As RibbonControlEventArgs) Handles CleanupButton.Click

oWord.Run("ShowTableCleanup")

End Sub

Private Sub FormatButton_Click(sender As Object, e As RibbonControlEventArgs) Handles FormatButton.Click

'MsgBox(oWord.Windows.Count)

oWord.Run("ShowFinTable")

End Sub

End Class

I did not do anything to the code in ThisAddIn.vb.  Following is the code in ThisAddIn.vb:

Public Class ThisAddIn

Private Sub ThisAddIn_Startup() Handles Me.Startup

End Sub

Private Sub ThisAddIn_Shutdown() Handles Me.Shutdown

End Sub
    End Class

Even when more than one document is open in Word, the code in ribbon.vb returns the value of open windows as "0" (zero).

To test it, I've put the following line of code in Private Sub FormatButton_Click:

MsgBox (oWord.Windows.Count)

MsgBox always returns "0"