none
Find and copy (text and table) from MS Word To Excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am sure someone asked this question before but I cannot find anything and I am only a beginner with Excel VBA.

I have about 900 invoices in MS Word format where I need to find and copy the invoice number, date, the table in the middle, and the total amount. 

and should look something like this

Invoice Number Date Quantity Description Price per Item Amount Total
    AA000123 2017/08/15 1 Apple $2.00 $2.00 $2.00
    AA000124 2017/08/15 5 Orange $2.00 $10.00 $10.00

Example Below

Invoice number: AA000123
    Date: 2017/08/15

Quantity Description Price per Item Amount
    1 Apple $2.00 $2.00
    Total $2.00

Invoice number: AA000124
    Date: 2017/08/15

Quantity Description Price per Item Amount
    5 Orange $2.00 $10.00
    Total $10.00
    Tuesday, August 15, 2017 1:01 PM

All replies

• The code for your requirements is very specific; it depends on knowing precisely which paragraphs in the documents contain the Invoice # and Date. There is also the question of how many data rows the invoice table(s) in a given document may contain.

The following code should get you started. After adding it to the Excel workbook, all you need do is select the output worksheet and run the macro against a folder (which the code allows you to select) and the invoice data will be extracted from all docx files in that folder. The code assumes the Invoice # and Date are in the first and second paragraphs, respectively - and that nothing else is in those paragraphs. If they're not in those paragraphs, you'll need to adjust the paragraph references in the strInvNo & strDate variables accordingly. Note the comment in the code about adding a reference to the Word object model.