Trying to determing boundary from group of Lat / Long points RRS feed

• Question

• So I have lots of different addresses for my city and have them grouped into different areas. I have obtained the latitudes and longitudes for these addresses as well. What I want to know is how to determine the "boundary" for my addresses (if that is even possible).

So for instance

Address, City, State, Zip, Lat, Long, Section Of Town

1 MyPlace St., Somewhere, IL, 00000, LatValue, LongValue, AreaOne

2 MyPlace St., Somewhere, IL, 00000, LatValue, LongValue, AreaOne

3 SomeOtherPlace St., Somewhere, IL, 00000, LatValue, LongValue, AreaOne

But with hundreds of other addresses also in AreaOne. I want to then determine what the boundary of AreaOne would be. I'm pretty new at spatial data and so haven't found anything that has helped me. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Wednesday, September 15, 2010 3:16 AM

Answers

• Here's a full code sample:

-- Create some test data
    CREATE TABLE #ConvexHullDemo (
     Address varchar(32),
     LatValue float,
     LongValue float,
     Section varchar(32)
     );
    INSERT INTO #ConvexHullDemo VALUES
    ('1 Test Street', 49, -120, 'Downtown'),
    ('5 Test Street', 49.1, -120.3, 'Downtown'),
    ('13 New Road', 49.4, -120.1, 'Downtown'),
    ('2 Scary Alley', 49, -120, 'Waterside'),
    ('8 New Road', 48.5, -120.2, 'Downtown'),
    ('4 Winding Lane', 48.8, -119.5, 'Downtown')

-- Add a geometry column
    ALTER TABLE #ConvexHullDemo
    ADD Geom geometry;
    -- Populate the geometry column
    UPDATE #ConvexHullDemo
    SET Geom = geometry::Point(LongValue, LatValue, 4326);

-- Create an empty collection
    DECLARE @Multipoint geometry = geometry::STGeomFromText('POINT EMPTY', 4326);
    -- Union all points in a given area into the collection
    SELECT @Multipoint = @Multipoint.STUnion(Geom) FROM #ConvexHullDemo WHERE Section = 'Downtown';
    -- Define the area boundary as the convexhull around all the points