Buttons in blend RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi Guys

I've asked in other threads but no one seems to either know or answer so I thought I would start my own thread

I'm new to blend and come from the world of flash.

I don't code so i'm trying to do everything with blend and one major thing i'm having problems with are buttons.

I have designed my own graphics and animated the press state on the storyboard. I added a trigger to play the animation when mouse down but does anyone know the best way to animate the button out when the user presses again?

I'm designing for touch screen so the person needs to select the button once to select the button (turns green) and then press it again to deselect (returns to its original state)

Are there any tutorials around that I can't find for stuff like this (I found one for triggering the animation but nothing for doing further animation once the button is pressed)

Hope someone can help

Many thanks guys :)

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 8:19 AM

All replies

• Since the June preview of Expression Blend provides a Visual State Manager that is designer to solve exactly this problem, you should consider upgrading to this (free) Blend version. It gives you an interface to create the states for your button based on Normal State vector graphics.

This doesn't necessarily mean that you can easily change and animate to a different graphic if you already have one. The VSM is meant to be used like making an animation: changing the properties in de properties tab for a specific change in looks in another state.

It might be interesting to see what happens when you remove the vector graphics for the first button state and replace them by the graphics for the second button state. I guess that it won't give you the results you want. So either you can uses the properties tab the recreate te second state or you can dive into the XAML code and replace de graphics in the specific Visual State for the XAML of your own objects.