none
Basic get; set; issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, i'm new to coding and C#, I have a really basic issue that i can't seem to get past. I'm trying to use the get; set; shorthand for adding a property set in an object, but i'm not sure how to set my range. 

I'm trying to shorten this (for a closely related value):

private double heightOfSideWall;

public double HeightOfSideWall
                {
                    get { return heightOfSideWall; }
                    set { if (value > 0)
                            {
                                heightOfSideWall = value;
                            }
                        }
                }

And my effort looks like this, but the 'get' is underlining, i want to specify the range 0 to infinity:

public double Width { get; set { if (value > 0) ; } }

Any advice would be much appreciated :)

Monday, October 29, 2018 6:47 PM

All replies

• C# supports defining properties as either "full" properties or as auto properties.

public class MyObject
    {
       //Auto property - compiler will generate the getter/setter implementations and define the backing field for you
       public int Id { get; set; }

//Full property - you are responsible for the getter and setter methods (if the property needs both), you are also responsible for any backing field they need
       public string Name 
       {
          get { return _name ?? ""; }
          set { _name = value; }
       }
       private string _name;   
    }

You cannot mix and match them on an accessor level. The auto property syntax is equivalent to this.

public class MyObject
    {
       public int Id { get; set; }

//The generated code
       /*public int Id 
       {
          get { return _id; }
          set { _id = value; }
       }
       private int _id;*/
    }