How to load EntitySet navigation property and use it as a DataTextField in a DropDownList binding? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello :)

I'm new to ASP.NET developpment  and use of Entity Framework.

I have a model that contains 3 entities:

- Commercial which inherits from SiteMember
    - SiteMember which inherits from DefaultUser
    - DefaultUser which contains firstName and LastName properties.

I would like to create a dropdownlist which contains the list of all Commercial entries from my database and displays their firstName + LastName.

I tried the following code :

List<Commercial> commerciaux = context.Commercial.Include("SiteMember").Include("DefaultUser").ToList();

if (commerciaux != null)
    {
       ddlCommerciaux.DataSource = commerciaux;
       ddlCommerciaux.DataTextField = "SiteMember.DefaultUser.LastName";
       ddlCommerciaux.DataValueField = "Id";
       ddlCommerciaux.DataBind();
    }

It doesn't work. I get an error which explains the EntitySet Commercial does not contain DefaultUser as a navigation property.

I also tried with just the SiteMember navigation property and its property "SiteMember.Login" but it also doesn't work.

What should I write to make it work?

Thank you :)

Regards.

Saturday, June 4, 2011 9:43 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I dont' rememember exactly how the DropDownList binding works, it may not support propertytrees for binding.

What you could do if you want to bind is to do the following:

var commerciaux = context.Commercial.Include("SiteMember.DefaultUser").Select(row => new { Id = row.Id, Name = row.SiteMember.DefaultUser.FirstName + " " + row.SiteMember.DefaultUser.LastName}).ToList();

if (commerciaux != null)
    {
      ddlCommerciaux.DataTextField = "Name";
    }

The select will then give you an list of a anonymous type that contains the Id and FullName, this can again be bound into your DropDownList.

Hope this helps!

--Rune
    Saturday, June 4, 2011 1:45 PM