none
Userform code to add task to ActiveProject in MSProject 2003 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm hoping you can point me in the correct direction.  I'm creating a UserForm to enter tasks into my project - so the user can enter all the additional fields the company would like added in one place (I'm essentially creating a new Task Entry form with the company info added).

I'm very new to VBA inside of MSProject.  I created my UserForm and now am trying to figure out the code.  I figure I only want it to add the information if the OK button is clicked and throw it away if the Cancel button is clicked.  I figured out how to add the task.name but how do I add the rest of the data, e.g. work, duration, predecessor, text11, outline_code 7, .... 

Thanks in advance!!!!

So this is what I have so far:

Private Sub cmdOK_Click()

Dim txtName As String
    Dim lngWork As Long

ActiveProject.Tasks.Add (txtName)
    Me.Hide

End Sub

Private Sub cmdCancel_Click()
    frmBusOpsData.Hide

End Sub

Monday, October 18, 2010 9:53 PM

Answers

• Hi,

1. Indeed, if you insert a blank task that means the name you give is blank. Txtname.value gives the content

2. Activeselection.tasks(1) gives access to the selected task.

3. Alkl this is release-independent

PS. Personally I never call a user form directly but I call a sub that shows the user form.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010 2:23 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Here's the trick

instead of just adding the task

ActiveProject.Tasks.Add (txtName)

Complete this statement

Set NuTask=activeproject.tasks.add(txtname)

Then you can set

nutask.duration=

nutask.work=

etc.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010 6:33 AM
  • Hi Jan,