none
Azure TcpClient issue RRS feed

• Question

• First off, I'd like to say this is my first attempt at Azure web site development, so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

I have an ASP.NET website that uses a TcpClient to log from an external chat site.  The listening side is set up as it's own VS project and was built by a friend of mine.  It works fine when I reference the project for a WinForms app, and it works as well when I debug the azure web role app locally.  

However, when I publish to my Azure website, I get an error: "An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions".  I believe this is because the connection to the chat is through port 5222 which according to info I found while researching this issue is blocked by the Azure firewall.

The listener is started during the Application_Start method. Here is the code that creates the TcpClient object which communicates with the chat server

IPEndPoint ep = new IPEndPoint(System.Net.Dns.GetHostAddresses(Properties.Settings.Default.ChatConnectionURL)[0], Properties.Settings.Default.ChatConnectionPort);
    TcpClient client = new TcpClient();
    client.Connect(ep);

The error occurs in the following code when checking for DataAvailable

using (StreamReader reader = new StreamReader(client.GetStream())) { if (((NetworkStream)reader.BaseStream).DataAvailable)//error here {

}

}

Anyway, hopefully there is a fairly simple solution that wouldn't require any major rewriting of the code, as like I said, the listener was not built by me (I'm sure I could implement any solution, but it would just take a long time).  Thanks in advance for any help

Thursday, November 15, 2012 9:02 PM

Answers

• Hi,

This exception, according to MSDN, is caused by:

Permission denied.

An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions. An example is using a broadcast address for sendto without broadcast permission being set using setsockopt(SO_BROADCAST).