Any progress on the 3D extension? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Just wondering if there has been any progress on the 3D extension for 32 bit. I keep checking but nothing seems to have changed with it.

Thanks

Saturday, October 20, 2012 8:29 PM

Answers

• I think the dll issues are solved and works on at lease one 32 bit machine.  All downloads for testing on my SkyDrive here

If all is OK the next stages would be to consider what meshes people want to use and then some other game-play commands - I already added some collision detection and basic mouse selection events.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012 8:12 AM

All replies

• I was going to decompile it an take a look at it, but I realized it would be harder than I though since it contains both C# and unmanaged? C++ code --- something I am not very experienced with. Maybe Litdev could provide some more inforamation on this. I think he has an x64 machine, so he would need a 32-bit virtual machine to test this. I have done that before with my extension, the PlusPlus extension, and it was very cumbersome and I stopped providing 64 bit support after a while.

In the end, I suggest inversting in a 64-bit computer --- maybe around $300, but worth every bit in my opinion.

Please mark any answers and "vote as helpful" any posts that help you!

Saturday, October 20, 2012 9:15 PM
    Answerer
  • I think he has an x64 machine, so he would need a 32-bit virtual machine to test this.

Processors that support x86-64 (and I believe IA64) will emulate a 32-bit environment so that programs compiled for 32-bit will still run. They also maintain hardware compatibility (i.e. a 64-bit processor will still have the 32-bit registers EAX and EBX, but a 32-bit processor will not have the 64-bit registers RAX and RBX).
    Sunday, October 21, 2012 1:31 AM
  • I think he has an x64 machine, so he would need a 32-bit virtual machine to test this.