Ajax Calendar Extender OnClientDateSelectionChanged in vb.net RRS feed

• Question

• User-858460272 posted

hi guys,

I am really new to the Ajax controls and i am struggling to get to grips with Calendar extender control even after having looked at the demos & tutorials.

What i would like to do is have a date textbox with the calendar extender within it. I want the date field disabled so user can't type in text but only use the pop-up calendar to select a date entry.

Once the user has selected a date from the Ajax Calendar extender control i want the field to display the date value BUT ALSO trigger an event which will alllow me to update a dropdown box which has a sql server datasource linked to it. I need to be able to pass a select statement to the datasource & then also databind() the dropdown box all on the event which is triggered when a date value is selected in the ajax calendar extender.

I would prefer coding this in VB.Net but i don't mind having to use Javascript functions. My website is setup using a Matser page.

So is it possible to do what i want or am i kidding myself?

regards,

Friday, October 17, 2008 11:34 AM

Answers

• User-1597315603 posted
    Hi dabooj<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p> </o:p>
    The OnClientDateSelectionChanged is for JavaScript, in your scenario, we can use a hidden Button to call the server-side function form JavaScript.<o:p></o:p>
    Please try the following code, when the Selection is changed, the server-side function “changesource()” will be called, however, a postback will occur:<o:p></o:p>
    <o:p>  
    <%@ Page Language="C#" %>

<%@ Register assembly="AjaxControlToolkit" namespace="AjaxControlToolkit" tagprefix="cc1" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<script runat="server">

public void changesource()
        {