none
outlook Rtf format mail attachment problem RRS feed

• Question

• i am a beginner office developer and i was developing a outlook AddIn solution  and in that solution i show to the user the inspector window (where the RTF format for the mail item is chosen by default) and a menu which contain items the user can add any of them to the inspector window and these items later i will replace it  through the code by values from the database.

the problem is that when the user add attachment to the inspector window as an icon and the position of this attachment is between the words of the mail item and later when i use the code to replace the placeholders data by the database values i find that the position of the attached file icon is placed at the end of the mail not in the same position the user put it in the inspector window 

in the code i use  the position attribute to try control the position of the attached file shown as icon 

(MailMergeItem as Outlook.MailItem).Attachments[1].Position = 10;

but is failed to set the position as i want to be

even for test  when i try to create a Rtf format mail item from scratch programmatically as in the following code and i want  to set  the position of the attachment file icon in some position it was failed also and the file placed at the end of the mail

MailMergeItem = Application.CreateItem(Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook.OlItemType.olMailItem);
                        (MailMergeItem as Outlook.MailItem).BodyFormat = Outlook.OlBodyFormat.olFormatRichText;
                        (MailMergeItem as Outlook.MailItem).To = "person@domain.com";
                        (MailMergeItem as Outlook.MailItem).Body = "mail    data ";
                        OpenFileDialog attachment = new OpenFileDialog();
                        attachment.Title = "Select a file to send";
                        attachment.ShowDialog();
                        if (attachment.FileName.Length > 0)
                        {