passing 2 textbox values to another form RRS feed

• Question

• I have 2 textboxes on form1 that I want to pass to 2 labels on form2, I used the Get Property to do this but i am getting errors, can anybody show me how to do this, I am new to visual basic

Thanks

Steve

Sunday, September 26, 2010 2:41 PM

Answers

• Thanks Frank, but can you give me a better example for passing 2 values, I have no problem passing 1 value

Thanks for replying

Steve

Hi Steve,

I'm assuming that Form1's textboxes are named TextBox1 and TextBox2 and that Form2's labels are Label1 and Label2. If not, modify it as needed but it's simply:

Form2.Label1.Text = TextBox1.Text
    Form2.Label2.Text = TextBox2.Text

This would be called FROM your Form1 of course.

• Proposed as answer by HrBill32 Wednesday, September 29, 2010 10:47 PM
    • Marked as answer by Bin-ze Zhao Thursday, September 30, 2010 8:15 AM
    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 8:45 PM

All replies

• you can pass the string values to the new Form's constructor. In this example from Deborah's blog:

https://msmvps.com/blogs/deborahk/archive/2009/09/21/passing-data-between-forms-constructor.aspx

you'll see the argument in the Sub New being passed to the form. Then in the Form Load event set the Label Text property to the respective string variable. Using the variable in the example in the link above:

Private Sub Form2_Load ....
     Label1.Text = passedInText
    End Sub

Sunday, September 26, 2010 3:01 PM
  • Another way that you can do it is directly from Form1

In Form1, you'd do something like this:

Sunday, September 26, 2010 4:05 PM
  • Thanks Frank, but can you give me a better example for passing 2 values, I have no problem passing 1 value

Thanks for replying

Steve

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 8:42 PM

Thanks for replying

Steve

Hi Steve,

I'm assuming that Form1's textboxes are named TextBox1 and TextBox2 and that Form2's labels are Label1 and Label2. If not, modify it as needed but it's simply: