none
How to load Image and start TTS at the same time on button click RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I am new to visual basic. I'm learning in Visual Studio 2015.

On a windows form I am trying to use text to speech and want an picture (talking) to show when the "speak" button is clicked.

At the moment the image loads after the words are spoken. Is there a way to get an image to open first (after clicking button?)  here is how I have it now...

Public Class Form1
        Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Dim sapi
            sapi = CreateObject("sapi.spvoice")
            If (RichTextBox1.Text = "") Then
                MessageBox.Show("no text was entered")
            Else
                PictureBox1.Image = My.Resources.talking
                sapi.speak(RichTextBox1.Text)
            End If
        End Sub
    End Class

Any help will be most appreciated

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 12:49 PM

Answers

• Hi ddotz,

Firstly, you could need to right-click on the Reference, click on Add Reference, then select the System.Speech Assembly and click on OK. And then System.Speech (the System.Speech namespace contains types that support speech recognition) and System.Speech.Synthesis namespace (the System.Speech.Synthesis namespace contains classes for initializing and configuring a speech synthesis engine and for generating speech and so on).

I put RichTextBox, Button and pictureBox controls in the Form, here is then simple sample you can refer to.

Code Sample:

Private speechSynthesizerObj As SpeechSynthesizer

Private Sub button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs)

pictureBox1.Image = Image.FromFile("D:\C# and VB Support\WinFormC\WinFormC\7.png")

speechSynthesizerObj.Dispose()

If richTextBox1.Text <> "" Then

speechSynthesizerObj = New SpeechSynthesizer()

speechSynthesizerObj.SpeakAsync(richTextBox1.Text)

End If

End Sub

Private Sub Form9_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs)

End Sub