how to return value from function that containing while? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, i'm new to programming.

i'm having problem to return value from a function that containing while loop. my expectation is when i call the function from other function, it'll always change it values. here it goes

{
            static int a;

public static int func1()
            {
                a = 0;
                while (true)
                {
                    a++;
                    return a;
                }
            }
            public static void Main()
            {
                int b = func1();
                Console.WriteLine(b);
                Console.ReadLine();
            }
        }
    in this code the result is only '1' (it's not looping), what i want is the loop is working everytime and sending the 'a' value to main function. sorry for botherin' everyone with this basic question.
    Monday, March 5, 2012 9:06 AM

Answers

• hmm, maybe you want something line a "yield return"?

public static IEnumerable<int> func1()
            {
                a = 0;
                while (true)
                {
                    a++;
                    yield return a;
                }
            }
            {
                foreach(int b in func1()) {
                  Console.WriteLine(b);
                  Console.ReadLine();
                }
            }

Edit:

Besides: YOUR funcion always sets a to 0... the func1 is always finished with a return. You could remove the while(true) from the func1 and also remove the "a=0;", then it may work...

• Edited by GreatVolk Monday, March 5, 2012 9:18 AM
    • Marked as answer by Jason Dot Wang Friday, March 23, 2012 6:38 AM
    Monday, March 5, 2012 9:17 AM
  • You can use yield return statement. You need to change func1 declaration to following, I also used end value to avoid looping forever. You need to loop the values returned by func1 in the Main method.

static void Main(string[] args)
            {