Adding new Data to SQL Database RRS feed

• Question

•  Hey,

Im new to VB and am trying to add a new row of data into a database table. I can read from the database just fine but when I try to add something new the database never gets updated. Inside the program i can see the the information i added but when i restart it the information is no longer there. Here is the piece of code I have for writing to the database.

Dim dbNewRow As DataRow = Database1DataSet.EmployInfo.NewRow

dbNewRow("EmployNum") = "08"
    dbNewRow("Name") = txtEmployeeName.Text
    dbNewRow("Address") = txtEmployeeAddress.Text

Database1DataSet.EmployInfo.Rows.Add(dbNewRow)
    EmployInfoTableAdapter.Update(Database1DataSet.EmployInfo)

(Im using Microsoft Visual Studios 2010) If anyone can help me get over this hump i would greatly appreciate it.

Monday, July 16, 2012 5:14 PM

Answers

• There shouldn't be. I would move it out of the bin folder to another location and then re-run the app. Check the folder after re-running the app to see if the file is back again. If it is, then you need to check the Copy to Output Directory property of the database. Also, make sure that the database in Solution Explorer is pointing to the file in your project directory.

Paul ~~~~ Microsoft MVP (Visual Basic)

• Proposed as answer by Frank L. Smith Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:23 PM
    • Marked as answer by Youen Zen Friday, July 27, 2012 3:33 AM
    Tuesday, July 17, 2012 9:56 PM

All replies

• If the Copy to Output Directory property for the database is set to Copy always then change it to Do not copy. Otherwise, you will be overwriting your changes whenever you restart the app.

Monday, July 16, 2012 6:11 PM
  • If you are having Embedded SQL Server then set "Copy to Output Directory" property of database file to "Copy if newer".

Gaurav Khanna | Microsoft VB.NET MVP

Monday, July 16, 2012 6:11 PM