none
Career path RRS feed

• Question

• I am a Computer Engineer fresh graduate...

Can I be a software architect without having good knowledge in programming or development as if i am a fresh graduate with banking experince?

what is the best career path for me with a computer engineer degree and experince in banking (credit)?

ur advise is highly appreciated.

My Regards,

Wednesday, April 30, 2008 6:00 PM

Answers

• I think it would be tough to get a software architect position without having plenty of experience in development. You may have a theoretical knowledge of OO and SOA, but without experience building those systems I think it would be tough to design them.

If you don't have good knowledge for OO programming, you will probably be starting off as a junior-level developer. After 2-3 years, you will be considered mid-level. Then after another 2-3 year, you will be considered senior level (this may vary by organization and definitely varies by how much time you put into learning outside of work). At that point, you will exhibit much of the knowledge and experience necessary to be an architect.

Architectural knowledge will serve you well on your way up the "totem pole." Be sure to check out Skyscrapr.

Be sure to continue your education outside of work. Participate in the development community. Attend user group meetings. Attend Code Camps. If you can, attend the pay conferences. Read and immerse yourself in the field.

Good luck on your chosen career path =).

Wednesday, April 30, 2008 6:23 PM
  • In order to become a successful architect you need to first get your hands onto coding. An architect should be able to demonstrate his concepts and ideas. To begin with give yourself 2-3 yrs into programming role. The path to an architect role looks like :

1. Start as a Developer on one technology

2. While working on one technology get yourself familiarize with other technologies as well. This will help you in making unbiased decisions later.