Passing Built-in Collections into Custom Assemblies RRS feed

• Question

• User752060696 posted

Hi All,

My first post! I've inherited a number of projects including a large number of reports. I'm in the process of rewriting many of these reports to use shared data sources, data sets and custom code. Previously all code and data sets were embedded in the reports, duplicating a lot of the work and causing maintenance nightmares. For this task I had planned to use Visual Studio 2013, to introduce some level of organisation and source control as well as taking advantage of the preview and deployment features. I thought I would break these reports up into logical solutions and projects and create custom assemblies to provide access to shared code.

The problem I am having is that some of the code will need access to some of the built-in report collections (Parameters, Fields etc...). I'm fairly new to writing managed code, coming from a scripting background, so I am having some trouble understanding how to setup the relevant references and where to get these references. I've read this msdn article regarding including a reference to ReportObjectModel to access these objects but I'm unsure how to proceed.

Do I need a reference to Microsoft.ReportingServices.ProcessingObjectModel.dll (local) for Visual Studio to preview the report and then a reference to Microsoft.ReportViewer.ProcessingObjectModel.dll (server) on my report server? Do these need referencing twice in this case? Also where are the best places to find these assemblies? Should I use the ones in the GAC, how can I be sure they are available on my report server, or should I  copy to the local bin directory? If so how should I reference and deploy then?