Has anyone used the Facebook Graph API?

Question

• Hi,

I have been working with the HTML5/Java script metro style application on windows 8 consumer preview. The application uses the facebook graph api. As I am new to this I have no idea about the callback url. We need to get the subscriptions on feed from the face book . In order to do this we need to define the callback url.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012 6:14 AM

Answers

• regel1, the answer is,

1. you must have a website (does not need to make a website though),

2. make a REST API to connect with Facebook graph, then that REST API you make will return the json string / xml / text to YOUR app, when your app request it from your website (REST), put the REST link as your callback to Facebook.

Problem solved.

• Proposed as answer by Raymond Goldman Tuesday, June 19, 2012 12:30 PM
    • Edited by Raymond Goldman Tuesday, June 19, 2012 12:32 PM
    • Marked as answer by Dino He Tuesday, June 26, 2012 8:57 AM
    Tuesday, June 19, 2012 12:30 PM

All replies

• hmm...... that is actually a very good question, how can facebook call the callback URI you gave since it's not technically a website. I will try to help you with that.
    Tuesday, June 19, 2012 10:04 AM
  • I am using the graph api to get the notifications and the feeds from the facebook. The requirement is that the application should provide alert when someone posts on the users wall without polling the facebook server. For this facebook is providing a mechanism through subscriptions. But this requires the callback url.. Here I am struck. Can  I use some kind of service or some thing for this puporse??
    Tuesday, June 19, 2012 10:10 AM
  • Hi Reqel,

How would you do this if you were using the API from a web page?  It would be the same teqnique.  Have you posted on the facebook forurms?

-Jeff

Jeff Sanders (MSFT)

Tuesday, June 19, 2012 12:28 PM
  • regel1, the answer is,

1. you must have a website (does not need to make a website though),