none
How to add a row from one dataset to another dataset if previous row is a new row in master DB RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys

I actually have two DB's - Master and localExpress - I connect to each of these DB's via a Adapter/dataset confuguration. Therefore I have a _dataSetMaster and a _dataSetLocalExpress that is filled on the application load.

Please note each of my DB's has a GUID's as primary keys ,  I dont use any INT64 primary keys and /or  autoincrement keys for either DB's.

So my question is as follows: When I Sync my app I have code that checks the _dataSetMaster rows and _dataSetLocalExpress and it will for example fin that the Admin guys (eg) has added a row to the Master DB therefore if refresh my _dataSetMaster adapter I will get an extra row in that _dataSetMaster dataset. But my _dataSetLocalExpress DOES not have this extra row and I would like a way to append / add this row to my _dataSetLocalExpress using the ADO NET functionality.

Some of you guys probably picked up that for the Syncing im using the Mircosoft Sync Framework - the syncing is working fine however I need a solution on an ADO NET level how to add my row from MAster DB to my local SQL instance. The MSoft Syncing has not panned out that well. SOme code:

_dataSetLocalExpress: (fill the dataset):

DataSetLocalExpressAdapter.CustomerAdpater localAdapter  = new  DataSetLocalExpressAdapter.CustomerAdpater ();
     localAdapter.Fill(_dataSetLocalExpress.Customer); 

_dataSetMaster: (fill the dataset): 

DataSetMasterAdapter.CustomerAdpater masterAdapter = new  DataSetMasterAdapter.CustomerAdpater ();
    masterAdapter.Fill(_dataSetMaster.Customer);

DataRow drExpress = null;

foreach (DataRow dataRowExpress in (_dataSetLocalExpress.Tables[0].Rows)
                    {

drExpress = _dataSetMaster.Customer.Rows.Find(dataRowExpress["GuidID"]);

if (drExpress != null)
                       {

//Dont add rows from master DB as there is no new GUID

}

else

{