Putting E-F connection in DAL (Class library) App.config file also requires connection string in MVC web.config file too?? RRS feed

• Question

• User-734459410 posted

I have a web app I'm working on that utilizes MVC 5 and E-F (version 6 I think).  Anyway, I moved my data objects (data connections and associated classes) to a DAL (data access layer) which I created as a new project in the same solution as the MVC app.  Since I'm using E-F, the connection string seems to be stored in the Application config file for the Class library.

However, I have found, to get it to work properly with the DAL and the MVC app, I must also put the Db connection string into the web.config file for the MVc app.  Doesn't this sort of defeat the purpose of having a DAL. I've been working with MVC for about 2 years now but am sort of new to the DAL concept (I understand it's purposes and why people use them, as in my case, I may want to use the same data objects in another app, so I implemented the DAL).

If this is not the correct way to do this, could I please get some assistance on how to get the DAL to work as it should and handle all database activities (connection string, data models, etc)?

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 1:32 PM

Answers

• User2053451246 posted

Your separate DLL will not have any reference to the config file in the project it was created from.  That way the same DLL can point to different data sources without having to re-compile and distribute it.  It will always look at the config file of the project it's referenced from, by design, which is a good thing.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, September 13, 2017 6:26 PM

All replies

• Wednesday, September 13, 2017 6:12 PM
  • User2053451246 posted