none
ReportViewer to open XML document formatted with CSS? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to report viewer but it looks like it can solve my problem. I just have no idea where to begin. Simply put, I have an xml document that is styled with a css which resembles your average document outline more than it resembles a traditionally structured xml database document. What I would like to do is open the xml document apply the css then display it in the report viewer. The only reason to do this is so the report viewer would give the user a familiar print preview style display and also add headers and footers that would be statically defined outside of the xml document. The following code can be used to simply open the document, and apply a style sheet, then print it in an asp page. I'm hoping I can just somehow route that through the report view somehow. Any thoughts?
    Code Snippet

<%
    'Load XML

set xml = Server.CreateObject("Microsoft.XMLDOM")
    xml.async = false
    xml.load(Server.MapPath("cdcatalog.xml"))

'Load XSL
    set xsl = Server.CreateObject("Microsoft.XMLDOM")
    xsl.async = false
    xsl.load(Server.MapPath("cdcatalog.xsl"))

'Transform file
    Response.Write(xml.transformNode(xsl))
    %>

Zach
    Sunday, July 15, 2007 8:04 AM

All replies

• The layout of the xml document in question is as follows:

Code Snippet

<root>
      <tblk>
      <sect tag="1.0">
        <text>Overview</text>
            <para>
                <tblk>
                    <snt>content of paragraph 1</snt>
                </tblk>
            </para>
            <para>
                <tblk>
                    <snt>content of paragraph 2</snt>
                </tblk>
            </para>
            <para>
                <tblk>
                    <snt>begining of paragraph 3</snt>
                        <tblk class="n">
                            <snt>list item in para 3</snt>
                        </tblk>
                </tblk>
            </para>
        </sect>