Left Navigation Bar based on roles RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to SharePoint and not sure where to start.  This is what I need to achieve

" I need to create a left navigation bar which shows menu items based on roles. After done with this role-based navigation, I also need to satisfy a scenario where same menu item clicked by two different roles should take him to different URL's. For Example say there is something like 'Reports' in the menu item. So, if User of role1 clicks the 'Reports' menuitem, it should navigate to a URL where reports of his department exist and if user of role2 clicks 'Payroll' menuitem, then he needs to be navigated to a different URL."

I did some research regarding the second part after setting up left navigation bar and found out that I can create a custom list in SharePoint with  the role, url as columns and navigate him to appropriate page by checking it from custom code.  But I'm quite confused on how to set-up the role-based left-navigation bar. Should I be using the OOTB navigation  or should I be creating one from scratch in Visual Studio. I'm certainly not sure how and where to start this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You.

Thursday, February 28, 2013 12:17 AM

Answers

• HI,

There's a basic difference between audience vs SharePoint roles. Audiences are not stopping users to access the links instead to show/hide links based on user audience. SharePoint roles related to permissions. If a user doesn't have permission the user can't access the links. So if you use audience then you need to make sure the individual links are secured for appropriate SharePoint roles. Personally I think you should go for Roles instead of Audience as audiences sometimes go out of control. If you continue using audiences, sometimes later you will find there's 100 of audiences used in different places in your SharePoint site and you don't know where and how.