none
Face features algorithm and PCA RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm doing a master's degree project about facial recognition and I'm using the Kinect 2.

I'm extracting from the HD face source the 94 shape units and I'm using them as features for training a classifier for face recognition.

I need to know for my project which algorithm the kinect used to extracting the shape units?

I've noticed that the first 10 elements in the shape units are PCA, I need to know how the kinect choose the 10 strongest features as PCA?

thanks,

Dror.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015 5:25 PM

All replies

• This is interesting.

The Shape Units/deformations are created when you go through the FaceModel building process. I know in general the way it works is that the face model process gets a snapshot of your face at various angles, by rotating your frontal view face left, right, up and down. These snapshots are then run through the algorithm and mathced against a "MEAN" face. The snapshots are then differentiated against the "MEAN" face to create the deformations/ShapeUnits.

Once the algorithm has been trained, the deformations are the differential results from the FaceModel that was built. This algorithm on how the Kinect team did this AFAIK is not released to the public. Matthew Simari was one of the engineers who worked on the FaceModel, he's also the one who's speaking on the HD Face Section in the jumpstart videos. Maybe you can reach out to him and ask.

It's interesting that you're going to use these coefficients to do your own training. I would think that using the 1300 Face Vertices would be more data, and more efficient in terms of building your own model, but again I guess that depends on your situation and the model you're trying to build. May I ask why you need the entropy used figure out the 10 strongest features as PCA?