How can I update a single column in a row? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all;

I've done a lot with ADO.NET but I'm totally new to Entity Frameworks. I have a question.

I need to set a single column value in a given row. If I can set just the one column, then I don't need transactions (and that's a lot faster when there's a ton of these). But with Entity Frameworks it looks like I have to create a transaction, read the row, set the column value, then save the row.

Is there a way to set just 1 column in a row?

thanks - dave

Who will win The Windward International Collegiate Programming Championships?

Sunday, September 29, 2013 1:07 AM

Answers

• Hi DavidThi808;

Entity Framework needs to have the record to be updated in local memory, in the DbContext, therefore what you want to do is not possible. That said you can use the ExecuteStoreCommand to do what you want. This command bypasses the ObjectContext and just uses it connection to the database.

You can use the ExecuteStoreCommand( CommandText, Parameters[] ) of the ObjectContext to execute a SQL native command on the server. If you are using Entity Framework with an ObjectContext already then the first two steps will need to be modified first step is to create the ObjectContext and NOT dbContext and the second step is NOT done at all.

// Sample Code