Help! How do I correlate multiple workflows within a ParallelForEach loop? RRS feed

• Question

• I'll admit I'm new at this, but after spending a crazy amount of time looking at samples, documentation, etc. I'm stumped!

The business scenario is pretty simple. I need to send out an N number of surveys to be completed. I started by creating a sequence workflow, and then sticking in the subsequent ParallelForEach with a sequence of Receive and Sends. My thinking was, the main workflow would receive the criteria and spawn off N number of workflows. These subsequent workflows would send out an email, recieve that the survey had been started, and then recieve that it was completed. When all of the survey workflows were completed, the overall workflow would do some work and be completed. I can't seem to get the correlation to work. BTW, this is a WCF Workflow Service Application and I'm trying to do as much as I can in the designer so the Biz can see it.

I really think this is a common business problem, yet I can't find any help anywhere.

THANKS!

• Edited by Speedr Monday, May 17, 2010 2:01 AM Added more information
    Monday, May 17, 2010 1:53 AM

Answers

• When you said you can't seem to get hte correlation to work, what errors have you hit? I suspect you haven't initialized the correlation. If I'm understanding your scenario correctly, here's what you can do:

In your main workflow after "receiving criteria" as you described, you can add a ParallelForEach. This ParallelForEach will iterate through the N email addresses that you will send surveys to.

In the Body of the ParallelForEach, you will first need an InitializeCorrelation activity (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.servicemodel.activities.initializecorrelation.aspx) to define a CorrelationHandle (e.g. a variable called myHandle) and to initialize the correlation data using the email addresses that ParallelForEach iterates through.