none
Problem with VBA Script to mark Sent Items as Read RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am acquainted with VBA scripting in Excel but I am new to VBA scripting in Outlook and firing events.

I am saving sent items with a rule to a non-standard location and because of that they remain marked as unread. Trying to address this with a script. So I am running Outlook 2016 64bit I tried the code provided here

https://www.slipstick.com/outlook/rules/mark-items-read/

And yes I did also copy the GetFolderPath function from the other page.

Immediately I run into an error saying that "Private WithEvents Items As Outlook.Items" is an invalid attribute for the sub or function. My guess is the code is too old and incompatible with Outlook 2016 x64.

Second, I have a question. Under "New PST\blabla". I am trying to run this rule on a PST that is not the default place for Sent Items. What am I supposed to set "New PST" to? The name of the PST as it appears on the left-hand pane(I have it set to to the custom title "E-mail for John Doe")? Or the name of the PST file("john.doe@contoso.com.pst") as it exists on the disk?

Also if this isn't right, what code should I use then?

Thank you.

Friday, January 20, 2017 8:23 AM

All replies

• Hi Searinox,

Since your question is VBA related, I'm moving it to the dedicated Outlook for Developer forum. There you should get more professional responses:

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/office/en-US/home?forum=outlookdev

The reason why we recommend posting appropriately is you will get the most qualified pool of respondents, and other partners who read the forums regularly can either share their knowledge or learn from your interaction with us. Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,

Ethan Hua

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Monday, January 23, 2017 9:27 AM
  • Hello Searinox,