none
What am I missing? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All, this is my first post here. I'm a self-taught PSer and I'm having a problem understanding why a command won't execute.

Here's the code:

Function DirTreeToFile {
        Param (
               [string] $SourceDrivePath 
              )

Clear-Host

$VolLabel = Get-Volume $SourceDrivePath.Substring(0,1) 
        $VolLabel = $VolLabel.FileSystemLabel

if ($VolLabel -eq "") {
          $VolLabel = "NoVolLabel"
        }

Write-Host "Source: $SourceDrivePath"

Get-ChildItem -Path "$SourceDrivePath\"  -Recurse -Force  

Write-Host "Done!"
        }

#Query for finding all device arrival events

$query = "SELECT * FROM Win32_VolumeChangeEvent WHERE EventType=2"            

# Define a PowerShell ScriptBlock that will be executed when an event occurs

$Action = { DirTreeToFile  $Event.SourceEventArgs.NewEvent.DriveName }

# Create the event registration
        # NOTE: Event Registration only good while the PS Shell is OPEN!!!!!!!!!

Register-WmiEvent -Query $Query -Action $Action -SourceIdentifier USBFlashDrive;

The WMI event registers properly and when I insert a USB drive the function is called and the debug statements print out the correct drive letter and then the Done! message. However, the Get-ChildItem command provides no output? I'm at a loss. Any Ideas what is causing this? Am I missing something obvious or is this some kind of weird situation? Thanks.

Note: Cross Posted here: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/showthread.php/168017-It-s-head-scratching-time-again!?p=996446#post996446

Thursday, April 16, 2015 7:22 PM

All replies

• Under even ideal conditions this is all out-of-scope or, at the least, impossible.

\_(ツ)_/

Thursday, April 16, 2015 10:59 PM
  • Well maybe not quite impossible as this code modified from code by Cliff.H in the referenced post in my original post shows.