none
Phantom duplicate images being saved by EW4 RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using EW4 for almost 2 years, and this problem just began a couple of days ago. I swear I have changed no settings. Suddenly I began to notice that, when I view the folder in Windows Explorer, every image file was accompanied by another file with exactly the same name and extension. The original file displays as a thumbnail as usual, but the duplicate is represented by the MS Office Picture Manager logo (my default image viewer).

In Expression Web the same folder's file directory lists each image only once, as it should.

In Windows Explorer, if I click on one of the real files, Picture Manager opens and shows all of the real files and none of the bogus ones. If I click on one of the bogus files in Windows Explorer, Picture Manager opens listing all the files with little red X's. That is, the directory displays only the bogus files, and none of the real ones. If I select all of these bogus files and delete them within Picture Manager, the folder then appears to be empty. In Explorer, only the real images remain, and everything appears correct.

BUT when I go back into Expression Web and save a new or modified page, the duplicate/bogus images reappear. At first only those on the new/modified pages double up, but within the time it takes to save a couple more pages, all of the images in the folder have phantom duplicates.

If I leave the files alone and continue working in EW, there are no further duplications. That is, each image file is matched only once by a same-named non-file.

Since I am able to delete the files without apparent effect, this is not so much a problem as an aggravation...and a mystery. Can anyone solve it?

• Edited by CactusX Thursday, December 27, 2012 8:21 PM
    Thursday, December 27, 2012 8:21 PM

Answers