Pass custom views to list view web part RRS feed

• Question

• Apologies in advance if I don't use the right terminology.  I'm not a developer, just the most IT-acclimated writer in my organization.

I have a web part page on a SharePoint 2007 server with a list view web part connected to an issues list where I've created several different views (My Issues, All Open Issues, All Working Issues, All Closed Issues).  I'd like to set up links on my web part page such that users can click and easily change the Current View to one of the aforementioned views, but without allowing users to monkey around on the page.

Does that make sense? I have access to SPD 2007 and know just enough HTML, XML, and JavaScript to be dangerous.

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Tuesday, July 19, 2011 6:28 AM states access to spd - does not state access to vs (From:SharePoint - Development and Programming (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:35 AM

Answers

• Hi Chris,

So you have 2 lists, and a maximum of 4 views per list? Your situation reminds me of a blog post I found not too long ago. First, however, I have a question: does the 2 list solution work well for you? Not to be a trouble maker, but Issue Reporting and Issue Resolution sound like they would share a lot of common fields, and might do well combined into one list. To follow-up on what J said, you could put the relevant users into a group that has viewing rights to the list, but not edit. They could then access the views the conventional way, via the View menu.

If you want to go with your original plan for users, the basic idea would be to have one list view web part for each of your views, plus a summary of the views with links. Some JavaScript is used to display or hide the various views based on what the user clicks.