none
Windows embedded compact future Version RRS feed

• Question

• is windows embedded compact future end?

im developing program for window CE 

Window CE is Gold for industries use RealTime OS and Familiar to PC Programing C# .net compact framework

is coming new .net compact framework version in future? ya everything END no any future version of window CE

Saturday, December 5, 2015 2:50 PM

Answers

• Pascal:

I get what you are saying, I have been working on real-time systems for over 20 years.  You may in fact need an RTOS, but:

1. When you move to a new RTOS, MFC won't be there.  Windows CE removed it many years ago, not that this stops you from using it still today.  But, when you say that it is a need, you really mean that it is a need for your apps today.  The world has been moving away from MFC for a long time, and toward modern. easier and more flexible GUI tools, like the .NET Framework.
    2. Determinism doesn't require an RTOS.  You may find that a new architecture and/or much faster CPU will eliminate the need - and again, you may not.

One of the first systems that I worked on was replaced by a COTS PC running Windows XP.  This was accomplished by using a new architecture that offloaded some processing to separate hardware, and by using a processor that was many times faster than the one that we had previously used.

The point of this response is simply keep an open mind.

Bruce Eitman (eMVP)
    Senior Engineer
    Bruce.Eitman AT Eurotech DOT com
    My BLOG http://geekswithblogs.net/bruceeitman
    I work for Eurotech

Thursday, December 10, 2015 2:58 PM
  • Windows Compact 2013 will be supported until 2023 and will continue to run on your design.  The following table is from

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/lifecycle?p1=17467

Products Released Lifecycle Start Date Mainstream Support End Date Extended Support End Date Service Pack Support End Date Notes
    Windows Embedded Compact 2013 8/11/2013 10/9/2018 10/10/2023