LightSwitch Completely Broken in VS 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi LightSwitch Peeps,

I have been using LS for 8 months now and it worked great. We have a LOB application so a Silverlight / Desktop client was the way to go.

• I have spent hours trying to upgrade the VS 2012 solution with no avail. It does not work out of the box!
    • I have tried creating new Desktop Clients from scratch connecting at first to OData services (504 errors), then to the database directly which also failed dismally. Out of the box it gives me a "400" Bad request!
    • I have tried to make an HTML client with a VERY VERY simple database with like 5 tables with the same results

Clearly internal testing has failed dismally in this release. I am happy to admit when I am wrong but I have been doing this long enough to spot a very very bad release. I will be waiting for a hotfix or a service pack soon.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013 4:54 PM

Answers

All replies

• There is this posted at the top of the forum re: etag problem.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/vstudio/en-US/f8987a4c-e39f-4541-b624-ef8cbaa85e4f/known-issue-with-lightswitch-in-visual-studio-2013-etag-value-error-with-attached-odata-and?forum=lightswitch

There is a well-known problem with multiple columns add to a entity unique index.

Apart from that we have quite a few VS2013 LightSwitch projects in development, testing and some deployed. We have several custom extensions in use, one with Dynamics CRM data, another with Salesforce data. I have upgraded a dozen or more VS2012 LightSwitch projects.

Perhaps you should check your environment? Or take each problem objectively.

Cheers

Dave

Dave Baker | AIDE for LightSwitch | Xpert360 blog | twitter : @xpert360 | Xpert360 website | Opinions are my own. For better forums, remember to mark posts as helpful/answer.

Wednesday, November 27, 2013 5:11 PM
  • Hi MorbidCamel