Visual C++ basic program error RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys.I'm new in programing and i'm getting this error...

Run-Time Check Failure #3 - The variable 'x' is being used without being initialized.

...in this program

#include<windows.h>

int _stdcall WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance,HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,LPSTR lpCmdLine,int nCmdShow){
        SYSTEM_POWER_STATUS x;
        if (x.BatteryFlag == 8)
         MessageBox(NULL,L"Battery is Charging.",L"Caution!",MB_ICONINFORMATION);

}

tell me please,what i'm doing wrong and if this program is able to get know if my laptop battery is charging.thnx.

Monday, January 26, 2015 1:49 PM

Answers

• On 1/26/2015 8:49 AM, DkMandar wrote:

SYSTEM_POWER_STATUS x;
         if (x.BatteryFlag == 8)

How do you expect x.BatteryFlag to acquire the value of 8 (or any other value)? Do you believe the structure will magically fill itself?

The documentation for SYSTEM_POWER_STATUS mentions the function you should use to initialize it.

Igor Tandetnik
    • Proposed as answer by John Boncek Monday, January 26, 2015 2:54 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by DkMandar Monday, January 26, 2015 4:31 PM
    • Marked as answer by DkMandar Monday, January 26, 2015 6:07 PM
    Monday, January 26, 2015 2:15 PM
  • its not working @Wyck.giving an error that illegal use of data type BOOL in an expression.

thnx for reply anyway!

My code worked for me:

#include <windows.h>
    #include <iostream>

int main()
    {
    	SYSTEM_POWER_STATUS status;
    	ZeroMemory( &status, sizeof( status ) );
    	BOOL result = GetSystemPowerStatus( &status );
    	if( !result )
    	{
    		// FAILED to get power status
    		return -1;
    	}

bool isCharging = (status.BatteryFlag & 8) != 0;
    	std::cout << "Charging: " << std::boolalpha << isCharging << std::endl;
    	return 0;
    }

And your code compiles too:

#include<windows.h>

int _stdcall WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance,HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,LPSTR lpCmdLine,int nCmdShow){