IDXGISwapChain1::Present1 and screen color

Question

• I'm new to Direct2D and XAML app development and can't figure this one out, so any help will be highly appreciated. I created a new "Direct2D App (XAML)" project in Visual Studio Express 2012. This project has SimpleTextRenderer class (derived from DirectXBase) that displays text on screen using Direct2D. The XAML page calls the following functions:

m_renderer->Render();

m_renderer->Present();

The Present() function has the following line of code in it:

HRESULT hr = m_swapChain->Present1(1, 0, &parameters);

where m_swapChain is an instance of IDXGISwapChain1.

If I omit the call to m_renderer->Render() function and just invoke m_renderer->Present() in some timer callback, the screen color changes. Now I know that the project also demonstrates how the background color can be changed when "Next" and "Previous" buttons are pressed in the bottom app bar, but I commented that code out and the screen color keeps changing (in the callback for timer that I set up) by itself, even when I don't press any buttons. Is this behavior expected? What is the behavior of Present1() function if it's called again and again and there's nothing to draw? Does it show empty frames in different colors or is that a bug somewhere?

To duplicate this problem, please create this project in VS 2012 and add the following code in DirectXPage::DirectXPage():

Windows::Foundation::TimeSpan timeSpan;

timeSpan.Duration  = 10000000;

ThreadPoolTimer^ timer = ThreadPoolTimer::CreatePeriodicTimer(
            ref new TimerElapsedHandler([this](ThreadPoolTimer^ source)
            {
                Dispatcher->RunAsync(CoreDispatcherPriority::High,
                                     ref new DispatchedHandler([this]()
                {
                      //m_renderer->Render(); 
                        m_renderer->Present();
                }));

}),  timeSpan);