Combine the Results of Many Test Runs? RRS feed

• Question

• I may be going about this in completely the wrong way. If so, please tell me.

I'm a developer who has been asked to run a set of manual tests. I've had to interrupt the test runs several times for various reasons.

I'd like to be able to combine the results into a single report showing my progress. Otherwise, I'll have to paste together "n" different test runs. Is there a tool or technique to do this?
    John Saunders
    WCF is Web Services. They are not two separate things.
    Use WCF for All New Web Service Development, instead of legacy ASMX or obsolete WSE
    Use File->New Project to create Web Service Projects
    Friday, February 12, 2010 1:33 AM

Answers

• Hi John,

A few things.

First, I think you should give a look to our VS2010 Release Candidate. We've done a ton of work to improve the manual testing experience. If you'll have to be doing this long term, then you should know about our new direction and how that will benefit you. For more info on our 2010 release visit our team blog at http://blogs.msdn.com/vstsqualitytools.

Second, in the VS2008 and before world, test runs were represented as xml files (.trx). They cannot be merged from Visual Studio, but they can be published to a Team Foundation server against a specific build. The build report will give you an all up report of the testing. You can also create warehouse reports of the testing against a particular build.

Last, I think I have heard about utilities to merge several .trx files together for an all up report that have been created by enthusiasts. I can't think of any names of the tools, but perhaps someone in this community can refer us to a good tool for you.

Yours,
    David
    David R. Williamson Development Manager Microsoft Visual Studio Team Test
    Saturday, February 13, 2010 12:28 AM

All replies

• Hi John