snap-to-road RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I really need to know how can I integrate Bing maps with distance matrix and snap points to road .

Please help
    Thursday, August 8, 2019 9:16 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Abhi070990,

Guidance as to the purpose of these API's can be found at https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/maps/fleet-management

Distance Matrix helps you decide which routes to take while Snap to Road you would use after receiving a list of GPS co-ordinates and discovering which route was taken.

Sincerely,

IoTGirl

Thursday, August 8, 2019 3:59 PM
  • Ok, understood. but as I am new with bing maps, so can you please explain or give an example that how can I use the response given by distance matrix for implementing snap to Road with map?

Saturday, August 10, 2019 4:14 AM
  • Hi Abhi70990,

You would not use the results from Distance Matrix with Snap to Road as Distance Matrix already provides routes that are on roads.  Let me give you a typical scenario:

A delivery company wants to optimize their routes and confirm that their drivers visited the locations they were expected to on their shift.  The dispatcher uses Distance Matrix to plan the best routes for the drivers to take on their shifts.  Drivers are tracked using a geotracking device and points are collected as they do their routes.  The points are collected are passed to Snap to road to give the route that they most likely took during their shift.  The dispatcher can then confirm that the driver visited all expected delivery points.

To sum up, Distance Matrix is used before the route is driven and Snap to Road is used afterwards.

Sincerely,

IoTGirl

Saturday, August 10, 2019 6:43 PM
  • Ok, that makes everything clear as of now. Just one question that I want to ask. I want to show bing map at my website having the shortest path between them. I used Distance matrix api and got the result.
    But how can I use that json Response to show the Map. I am really concern about this.