none
MVC VS N-Tiers RRS feed

• Question

• I am studying Framework and Pattern.  I am a bit confused between MVC and N-Tiers so I want to hear from you experts.

When I have, say, a 3-tier application, can I apply also the MVC?  It seem to me that they actually telling similar things but looking from different views.  Does the Clients-Side Business Object(CSBO) the same as the Model in MVC?  Are the Controllers in MVC the listeners/handlers of CSBO?  If I raise events from the Model, I can actually not only control/reflect from the View(say, I can listen from the data tier also), isn't it?

Thank you for all comment.

Sunday, November 5, 2006 12:22 AM

Answers

• Hi Kennon,

The answer to your question "When I have, say, a 3-tier application, can I apply also the MVC?" is YES

A 3-tier application it's deployed in 3 different processors/processes: such division is, most of all, physical (so watch your frequency of tier-crossing bcs it could affect the application performance, despite its multiple benefits). Usually the tiers are:

• The Front-End environment (typically a browser, a desktop application in a desktop terminal)
    • The Middleware (an application server usually accessible thru a web protocol-based process)
    • The Back-End, ranging from databases to large mainframe environments

In UML terms, a 3-tier application is better depicted with a Deployment diagram

The MVC architecture pattern establishes a division of responsibilities between components at a use case level, without mentioning physical boundaries (in deployment terms). Here you can find

• The Model, which represents the present status of the domain entities (without specifying where is that status, whether in memory, whether in a database, XML files set or a mainframe system)
    • The View, responsible to capture user input and to display outcomes based on the Model status