none
how to pass n:n relationship data to sql server using c# code behind.

Question

• Hello All Expert,

I am a newbie here, need to know

How to pass the N:N data to the sql server .

e.g. i have a registration form for the candidate which consists of some text boxes and some dropdown and one gridview.

Gridview contains EmployeeSkills.

My query is to pass the data to the Db from c#.net.

In the database i have multiple tables and One N:N relationship table for EmployeeSkill,

can anyone provide me some helpful reference on the same.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 8:38 AM

Answers

• i want to use ado.net from the code behind.

Steps:

1) Save the candidate using a SqlCommand. I presume that you are already doing this in other parts of your application, so you already know how to create the SqlConnection, as well as configure, parameterize and execute the SqlCommand. I also presume that the tblCandidate has a primary key named IdCandidate and that it is an Identity field so it will be generated at the DB (I asked you before but you never answered about how your key was generated).

Saving the row and then retrieving the ID can be done in several ways, but it is very common to add a select at the end of the insert so it can be retrieved in one operation. Therefore you will need an insert similar to this one:

"Insert into TblCandidate(list of fields except Id) Values (list of paramenters); select scope_identity();"

Run it with .ExecuteScalar so that you recover the key.

2) Get all the keys for the Skills selected for the candidate. If you loaded the skills into a table that you are presenting on screen, then you already have those keys, which you recovered from the database when you read the rows in order to present them. For simplicity, I will refer to the corresponding column as SkillId, since you didn't mention how it is named in the database.