none
HOw to populate a combobox on a form with the list of languages based on Word.Languages and include item in the list only if there is an active spelling dictionary RRS feed

• Question

• Hello guys,

I am new at vb under studio and I am running into a problem that was easy to sort under VBA but puzzles me under Studio.

I am trying to create a VSTO Add-in for Word. I have a form which contains a combobox and I want to programmatically list the NameLocal (display value) and ID (value) of all languages of the system for which there is an ActiveSpelling Dictionary.

I locate this routine in the Form.Vb:

Private Sub PopulateMyLanguages()

Dim Cb As ComboBox = Me.Cbb_Languages
            Dim MyLang As Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word.Language

For Each MyLang In Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word.Languages
                If MyLang.ActiveSpellingDictionary.Path IsNot vbNullString Then
                    Cb.Items.Add(MyLang.NameLocal)
                    Cb.DisplayMember = MyLang.NameLocal
                    Cb.ValueMember = MyLang.ID
                    If MyLang.ID = My.Settings.St_Target_Language Then
                        Cb.SelectedItem(Cb.Items.Count) = True
                    End If
                End If
            Next
        End Sub

However, I get the following error message:

Error    BC30111    'Languages' is an interface type and cannot be used as an expression.   

What can I do to rectify this and get it to work?

Any and all help would be much appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 2:32 AM

Answers

• In the Form, you *ought* still to be able to do this:

Dim myLang as Word.Language

because the relevant references are already in the project as a whole. But there is no harm in going to Project->Add Reference... and looking in the Assemblies ->Extensions section, where you should see several Word-related assemblies checked. (Things may be slightly different depending on your version of VS).