please help.... filtering multiple collection views using checkboxes...... RRS feed

• Question

• .... i'm a noob at this so please do be offended by my ignorance. OK i am working on a wpf project.... "recipes"

it consists of a master/detail type pattern with 1 parent table and 7 children tables.... i am using collection views and thankfully everything works on my forms as far as  insert, add, update, and delete. my problem is i want to filter the master collection view using check boxes and i have no idea how to accomplish this.... I've read so many posts on it but can not find one that applies to my problem.

here's the problem  exactly. my data set consists of 8 tables. 5 of them are nothing but check box answers. these are the answers i need to filter the main view by. ( whether by 1 table or a combination of all 5)

so should i create a collection view for each table i want to filter by and if so... how do i write the parts for the check boxes. i watched the msdn how to videos to get this far, but there are no tutorial videos dealing with check boxes, filtering collection views using check boxes. nothing.

and if i should create a separate collection view for each table, how would i filter the different views into a single list view?

any and all help would be extremely extremely appreciated.

thanks

Adam

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 3:45 AM

All replies

• ..... i'm a noob at this so please do be offended by my ignorance. OK i am working on a wpf project.... "recipes"

it consists of a master/detail type pattern with 1 parent table and 7 children tables.... i am using collection views and the EF. thankfully everything works on my forms as far as  insert, add, update, and delete. my problem is i want to filter the master collection view using check boxes and i have no idea how to accomplish this.... I've read so many posts on it but can not find one that applies to my problem.