none
Pulling data into a combo box on a form RRS feed

• Question

• Hi MS Access gurus,

I am relatively new to MS Access so this may be a newbie question.

I have been given some mdb files to take a look at.  The files are Access 2003 compatible.  On one of the forms in the access project there is a combo box.  When I open the form in normal viewing mode, this combo box retrieves its data from a table called, say, "table1".  

When I view the form in design mode, the properties of the form show, on the Data tab, that the Record Source is "table2".

When I view the properties of the combo box, on the Data tab, the Control Source is VendorName.  VendorName is a field in table2 ... there is no VendorName field in table1.

Where is the code that pulls the table1 data into the combo box?  I can't seem to find this code or relationship anywhere.

Thanks,
    D

Tuesday, August 23, 2011 6:23 PM

Answers

• Dencolp:

One more thing to check.... see if there are any events assigned to the combo box.  Perhaps there is some VBA code that is manipulating the data.

Regards,

Rich Locus Logicwurks, LLC www.logicwurks.com
    • Marked as answer by dencolp Tuesday, August 23, 2011 11:29 PM
    Tuesday, August 23, 2011 9:14 PM

All replies

• Hello dencolp:

If I understand your issue correctly, the form and the combo box have different data sources.  In design mode, click the little square box in the left upper corner of the form and check the properties, especially the Record Source property.  It is the table or query that supplies the data to the form.

For the combo box, activate it in design mode, and then check the control source properties of the combo box.  The control source usually refers to a field in a table or query.