XAML. C++. Get Children Of A Grid Column?

Question

• Sorry, but I am a complete newbee here.

I have XAML that contains a Grid with one row and three columns.

In code: How can I empty the contents of a specific Grid column (the Children of the Grid specific Column)? Is this possible? I need to empty it (not 'hide' the contents) because I want to replace the Children of the column with new Child's.

I cannot even find out how to obtain the Children of a specific Grid column.

Thanks

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 6:17 PM

Answers

• The following code will examine the Children of a Grid and remove items that are in a specified column. I also included code for how you would place a new item (I used a TextBlock for simplicity) at a specific location in the Grid.

// The column we want to clear from.
    	int columnToClear = 0;

// This assumes that the Grid control has an x:Name="SomeGrid" attribute. Change SomeGrid to the name of
    	// your Grid control.
    	for (auto i = 0U; i < SomeGrid->Children->Size; /* Do nothing; we'll be handling incrementing below. */)
    	{
    		auto child = SomeGrid->Children->GetAt(i);
    		auto columnOfChild = SomeGrid->GetColumn(safe_cast<Windows::UI::Xaml::FrameworkElement^>(child));
    		if (columnOfChild == columnToClear)
    		{
    			SomeGrid->Children->RemoveAt(i);
    		}
    		else
    		{
    			// Only increment if we didn't remove something, otherwise we'd wind up skipping any element
    			// that came after an element we removed.
    			++i;
    		}
    	}

// This is an example of how to add an element to a Grid at a specific row and column. Since
    	// the row and column are attached properties that come from Grid, we need to use the SetValue
    	// member function.
    	auto textBlock = ref new Windows::UI::Xaml::Controls::TextBlock();
    	textBlock->Text = "Hello C++!";
    	// Add it to the columnToClear column. We need to create a boxed int here since SetValue is