Need some feedback on architecture RRS feed

• Question

• User-164920201 posted

Hello all,

I am an architect working on a rather large conversion of a web app that is using asp.net 1.1-3.5, csla 1.x and even 200+ pages of classic asp.  Logic is all over the place, there are more work-arounds then real design etc.  I am trying to promote some good practice and OO principles and so far in my design I have come to the conclusion that ASP.Net MVC (well really model2) will help them get there, mostly on testability and extensibility of the framework.  I have been trying to come to grips with the layering we want and I seem to be at odds with the default layout of new ASP.Net MVC apps.  I have never really been comfortable with having all my layers in one project, mostly because I find developers "cheating" a lot when it comes to where they put logic.  I have also found it easier to work on layers when they are in physically different assemblies.  So my architecture is looking like this:

Web - ASP.Net MVC with WebForms, some classic asp and other.  I also have (obviously) my controllers, views and view models here.  Some model binders and a Presenters assembly for Passive View stuff with the old webforms.  I am using MVP as a comprimise on the webforms just so we can get logic in a more testable format, my guess is though everything will go MVC, but it will take some time.  Plus, maybe they need webforms to do something they can't do in asp.net mvc, I have not found that to be the case so far though.

BLL Solution Folder