Web API development RRS feed

• Question

• User-619898029 posted

Hi All,

All these years I have worked on projects which required normal web forms application, suing ADO.net. I was developing a n-tier applications where I would interact wth DB using Data layer where I had functions to call SP's and get the data whatever I needed to show. I used normal forms authentication whenever I had to Login a user to website with a username and password. 

Now, I have project where I require an API to be developed so that it would be consumed from various other clients(mobiles and desktop browsers, other domain websites) for the data retrieval. I have researched and gone through many articles to learn before I start the development. While learning  I have come across various things like EF, token based authentciation for login, Web API2.2. 

All these have been used along with MVC where I am still a novice in MVC. I am getting confused as to where I should start from

1. When I think of EF, I am not having any real time hands on with EF and don't know how far it is best suited for my requirement. 

2. All these days, for login, I used to authenticate and Authorize the user by normally sending the user credentials(in encrypted fromat) to SP and proceed further. But now I see that its not a recommended way and have come across token based authentication. But this too is majorly being implemented using MVC's and its also said that its has to implemented over HTTPS connection. Is there any other secured way of achieving the same?

Can anyone guide me through the appropriate approach that I should use ?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks,

mds2907

Tuesday, December 6, 2016 7:31 AM

All replies

• User-10486210 posted

Hi mds2907