none
Creating an MSI from a VSTO solution RRS feed

• Question

• First of all I would like to let you know that I am not a developer and have no past history of coding at all, so this might be a ridiculously silly question for most of you but here goes ...

I have found an outlook addin solution that I would like to deploy out to end users, and I found this https://github.com/braxtone/PhishReporter-Outlook-Add-In 

I have edited the necessary to suit our environment but whenever I try to package as an MSI for deployment, Visual Studio 2017 just hangs for up to 2 hours and then eventually I get a popup that says "install server not responding" . I have searched the net and worked through any suggested solutions but no joy and if I am honest I dont know what the install server is that is being referred to ?

I am assuming it is an option somewhere I have missed but again as a none dev and a first time VS user I am working a little blind, does anybody have any suggestions ?

I can  provide more information if required.

Thank you

Thursday, June 15, 2017 5:48 AM

Answers

• Hi DTR1981,

There are 2 ways to deploy VSTO solution.

(1) Using ClickOnce

(2) Using Windows Installer

Deploying a Solution by Using ClickOnce

When you deploy a solution by using ClickOnce, you publish it to a central location where users can install and run it. You can update the solution without having to distribute a new setup program to users.  This deployment option is simpler, but you can't show users custom setup pages. Also, solutions must be installed multiple times on any computer that has more than one user

Reference:

Deploying an Office Solution by Using ClickOnce.

Deploying a Solution by Using Windows Installer