Loading/Updating Content with jQuery RRS feed

• Question

• User-1245426334 posted

Ok... So I'll admit: AJAX wasn't covered when I was getting my degree, so I'm mostly self-taught.

In the past, I've used actual jQuery AJAX calls ($.ajax({...});), but I recently was reading up about $("...").load() and was a bit intrigued.

They seem to do basically the same function, but .load() by-passes injecting the returned content into an element.

So now I'm just wondering if there are specific times to use one over the other and any other insights people may have.

Thanks!

-Eric

Wednesday, April 4, 2012 8:32 PM

Answers

• User1779161005 posted

$("#foo").load(url) is just a warapper on:

$.ajax({url:url,

type:"GET",

dataType:"html",

success : function(result) {

$("#foo").html(result);

});

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, April 4, 2012 8:36 PM

All replies

• User1779161005 posted

$("#foo").load(url) is just a warapper on:

$.ajax({url:url,

type:"GET",

dataType:"html",

success : function(result) {

$("#foo").html(result);

});

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, April 4, 2012 8:36 PM
  • User-1245426334 posted
    Ok. That's what I thought. Thanks! So if I'm looking to get content from a rendered control, I should continue using $.ajax to post data to WebMethods? One other question: I generally return data as json, but I know I can return it as HTML, so my question is when do I use which? Does it even matter? In the example I'm thinking of, the WebMethod would be returning a string of HTML is what would be returned.
    Wednesday, April 4, 2012 8:48 PM
  • User1779161005 posted

Ok. That's what I thought. Thanks! So if I'm looking to get content from a rendered control, I should continue using $.ajax to post data to WebMethods?

Well, it works, right?