Can I write MDX query within Sqldatasource Control ? RRS feed

• Question

• User-775831949 posted

I am new to MDX...

I already have a working sqldatasource and there is a selectcommand within the control. It is working fine.
    The data source file is an OLAP cube I created elsewhere and copied to this web server (so maybe this is called offline/local cube file?) and thus I am wondering where I can put my MDX statement. Can I just write that MDX query in selectcommand WITHIN the sqldatasource control ?

Pls help, thanks

Thursday, September 29, 2011 8:52 PM

Answers

• User-394472208 posted

Hi,

You can create linked server also in SQL Express. But Analysis Services is not available with SQL Express.

I am not exactly sure what you mean with cube file, but if it is a local cube than you can use it with linked server connection too (with the limitation of local cubes).
    Local Cubes (Analysis Services - Multidimensional Data)
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb522640.aspx

Regards,
    Orsi
    Microsoft Online Community Support

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Wednesday, October 19, 2011 4:53 AM

All replies

• User3866881 posted

Can I just write that MDX query in selectcommand WITHIN the sqldatasource control ? What is the easier way of doing MDX and where is the best place to put it into work ?

A better way on my point is that you can first write a stored procedure with MDX statements, and then refer to this stored procedure with the help of your statement.

Thx again

Saturday, October 1, 2011 8:34 PM
  • User-775831949 posted

Thanks, but I still wish to explore if we can successfully write MDX in selectcommand property of the sqldatasource control... anyone can help to try ?

Thanks

Monday, October 3, 2011 1:44 AM
  • User-394472208 posted

Hi

In TSQL you can access SSAS data through linked server and OPENQUERY
    You have to setup a linked server to SSAS.