none
How to rename multiple images in a List-Box in C# windows application RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to C#. I am building a windows form that can rename multiple files in a List Box. 

Files are actually images (.png) and what i am trying to do is just rename the images from "image1.png, image2.png, image3.png", ... etc , to "newname1.pnage, newname2.png, newname3.png"

I was successful to make it work for renaming single image, however and I think there must me a for loop there to do the multiple image rename (I might be wrong). So would you kindly helping me resolving this issue?.

here is my code of the rename button.... Thank you.

private void buttonRename_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                if (outputListBox.SelectedIndex >= 0)
                {

string fileToRename = outputListBox.Items[outputListBox.SelectedIndex].ToString();
                     string newFileName = newNametextBox.Text;

if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(newFileName))
                    {
                        string fileName = Path.GetFileName(fileToRename);
                        string newFilePath = fileToRename.Replace(fileName, newFileName);
                        System.IO.File.Move(fileToRename, newFilePath);
                        outputListBox.Items[outputListBox.SelectedIndex] = newFilePath;
                    }
                }
                else
                {
                    MessageBox.Show("There is no Files in the Above list to be Selected", "Error", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Error);
                }
            }
    • Edited by Hanseller Monday, September 17, 2018 6:08 PM
    Monday, September 17, 2018 4:18 PM

All replies

• You can do something like this:

var newFileName = "newName";
    var fileToRename = "";
    var idx = 1;

foreach(var selectedItem in outputListBox.SelectedItems)
    {
        fileToRename = selectedItem.ToString();

if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(newFileName))
        {