Consolidation strategy: general purpose vs departmental servers RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to my current work environment.  They're standardizing on general purpose SQL servers.  New application databases are deployed on the least utilized general purpose server, as are existing databases that need to be migrated off legacy servers.  This seems as good an approach as any...  there are always going to be one-off databases that are used organization-wide, or that don't need a dedicated server.  I'm curious if anybody has a different approach such as using departmental servers.  So for example all accounting databases go on one or more servers.  It seems like that would make integration and troubleshooting easier.  If we had to take a server down for maintenance, or if a server crashed, then it would be easier to notify a limited group of users, i.e., all accounting users.  Or for example, in the case of needing linked servers, the accounting servers would only have to link within their own "farm".  What is your approach to consolidating servers, databases, instances, etc?

Monday, April 30, 2012 10:12 PM

Answers

• What a can of worms those questions open!

The trendiest idea these days is "the cloud", just ask for what you want, and let the magic infrastructure genie make it happen.

But some companies want to do this by virtualizing everything, which does not always make SQL Server happy, especially as performance demands increase and scale gets to a certain point.  Microsoft is fooling around with Azure to try to provide this cloud functionality, and you can look up how that's working for people - so-so, I think pretty well summarizes it.