none
Manual rendering of a WPF User Control

Question

• Hi, I am new to WPF (coming over from Winforms). I wanted to replace one of my winform controls with a WPF version. The rendering of this control (ie drawing rectangles, text etc) was all done in the Paint method, as opposed to using lables etc. The reason is that I want the control to be as light weith as possible (as there may be many thousands of them used in the application)

So I created a WPF user control, and did an override for the OnRender....

protected override void OnRender(DrawingContext drawingContext)
    {
      base.OnRender(drawingContext);
      drawingContext.DrawText(m_formattedText, m_textPos);
    }

This text was drawn until I started adding a background (brush), to the control, then the text no longer appeared. Also, I understand the OnRender is not like the Paint where is is called everytime we want to redraw the control, so my next question would be how do I remove the previous text when I want to write something different.

My question is, am I able to use a WPF User control in this way, and if so, how can I write out text and shapes without having to use other controls (eg labels) within the control.

Thanks in advance for any pointers

Saturday, May 16, 2009 9:25 AM

Answers

• Hi,

-->This text was drawn until I started adding a background (brush), to the control, then the text no longer appeared.

Have a look at the default template of UserControl. then you will know what is happening here. Let’s firstly have a look at the template of UserControl:

Template of UserControl code:
    <ControlTemplate

TargetType="UserControl">

<Border

BorderThickness="{TemplateBinding Border.BorderThickness}"

Padding="{TemplateBinding Control.Padding}"

BorderBrush="{TemplateBinding Border.BorderBrush}"

Background="{TemplateBinding Panel.Background}"

SnapsToDevicePixels="True">

<ContentPresenter

Content="{TemplateBinding ContentControl.Content}"