none
Performance test RRS feed

• Question

• As I am new to Azure Table Storage I am seeking some performance recommendations . Right now I am comparing Azure Table Storage with another key-value storage server Riak. At present I have about 50,000 entities and it takes an average of about 300 ms to retrieve an object from the Azure Table where a similiar query with Riak takes about 20-60 ms. Since both methods are basically a key-value storage I am asking if there would be recommendations on how I might close the gap a bit and retrieve data from Azure Table Storage faster. Here is the query that I am using now:

TableQuery<Shared.Types.AzureStorage.Order> query = new TableQuery<Shared.Types.AzureStorage.Order>().Where(TableQuery.GenerateFilterCondition("RowKey", QueryComparisons.Equal, orderIdToFind));
                    if ((order = orderTable.ExecuteQuery(query).FirstOrDefault()) == null)
                    {
                        Console.WriteLine("Order {0} not found", orderIdToFind);
                    }

Ideas?

Thank you.

Kevin Burton

Monday, November 19, 2012 8:05 PM

Answers

• Hi Kevin,

In order to achieve the best performance results in Windows Azure Table Storage, it is highly recommended that you follow the best practices and performance guidelines like these: Designing a Scalable Partitioning Strategy for Windows Azure Table Storage.

Anyways, looking at the sample code you provided, it appears that you are testing the service (a simple get) from your local/on-premises dev machine. Assuming that this is correct? If, so... you need to take in consideration possible limitations on your network and internet connectivity and latency. How far are you from the Azure data center (DC). And how far are you from the Riak DC? If you deploy that code to Azure, what are the results?

Hope this helps!

Best Regards,
    Carlos Sardo

Monday, November 19, 2012 10:44 PM